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FAQ: Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) 
 
What is a CVI? A Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI), also known as a health certificate, is an official 
document issued by a veterinarian. It confirms that the animals listed on the document have been inspected 
and meet the regulations for their intended movement, whether within the same state, between states, or 
internationally. The CVI is issued on a specific form provided by the state's livestock health official or the USDA, 
completed by an accredited veterinarian, and validated by the state's livestock health official. 
 
Why is a CVI important?  Requiring a CVI prior to transport of a dog into Pennsylvania aims to prevent serious 
diseases from entering the state that could negatively impact both animal and public health. 
 
What vaccines must be included in a CVI?  Dogs entering PA must have at least one dose of a DAPP 
(Distemper/Adeno/Parainfluenza/Parvo) combination vaccine. Any dog 12 weeks of age or older must also 
have their rabies vaccination information included in the CVI.  Privately owned household dogs entering PA  
boarding kennels temporarily are not required to have the DAPP vaccine noted on the CVI. 
 
Is a CVI a new requirement?  The changes to Pennsylvania’s Dog Law now require a CVI for all dogs in licensed 
kennels. The Department is aware of concerns raised by some boarding kennel operators  with respect to the 
CVI requirement for temporary boarding of privately owned household pet dogs and is working with the 
legislature to address this concern. 
 
When does a CVI expire?  According to Pennsylvania state law, a CVI is valid for 60 days after the issuance 
date on the document. During this time, a dog can travel into PA to enter a licensed kennel facility as often as 
necessary. The CVI must accompany the dog while in the Commonwealth. After the 60 days has passed, an 
accredited veterinarian will need to issue a new CVI.  Please note that Pennsylvania will honor a CVI for 60 
days from issuance, regardless of language contained in the originating states’ form. 
 
How long should the CVI be kept on file?  Licensed kennels must keep a copy of the CVI for any dog that 
entered its kennel from another state or country for a minimum of 2 years.  Boarding kennels are required to 
maintain a copy of the CVI for seven days following the dog’s departure from the kennel. 
 
How do I find an accredited veterinarian?  A list of accredited veterinarians by state can be found at: VSPS 
Veterinary Services Process Streamlining (usda.gov) 
 
Who is my state’s Chief Animal Health or Chief Livestock Official? This information can be found at: 
www.usaha.org/saho.   
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